Featured Sweet Spot: Sinful Sweets

I love trying new places. It’s kind of a sport for me. Whether it’s sweet, savory or somewhere in between, it’s one of my favorite things to do. At least 50% of the reason I travel is to check out restaurants and bakeries I haven’t been to before. And I figure, why not share the wealth? So I’ll occasionally be featuring different restaurants, bakeries, etc. particularly in the Pittsburgh area.

Today I was downtown for a meet & greet with my new coworkers and when the meeting was over I made a beeline for the nearest sweet spot: Sinful Sweets.

This cute little shop is located at 901 Penn Avenue and luckily for me, it’s just a few blocks from my new office. It’s pretty close to where Dozen Bake Shop used to be located (I’m still grieving the loss of those delicious cupcakes). And while I’ll always miss Dozen, I was pleasantly surprised by Sinful Sweets.

It’s a cute little space, but it’s small and there are only a few seats. I don’t think there are any public restrooms. But none of this matters when you see what’s on offer:

Cupcakes in a variety of flavors. Ice cream toward the back. And candy. But not just any candy… it’s the kind of candy you find on the boardwalk at the beach. Chocolates, an array of chocolate-covered items, and chocolate bark. As in, ALMOND BARK! I have been looking for almond bark in Pittsburgh for years and it’s finally here! (If there are other places that sell almond bark, please let me know. I need to try it ASAP.) I was ecstatic.

It was hard not to order one of everything but I figured that I’ll have plenty of time to try each item because I’ll be working near by. So I ordered a Chocolate Chip cupcake for myself, a Peanut Butter Crumble cupcake for my mom (aka Mama Bear), and a chunk of my beloved milk chocolate almond bark.

I wish I had a photo of the almond bark to show you but it’s long gone. It was creamy, delicious and I’ll be thinking about it for a long time. It was also made with cute flower indentations on one side. Mmmm…

Chocolate Chip - Sinful Sweets

Can I just say: wow. The cake was moist and the frosting was light and super creamy at the same time. I’m not big on extras like sprinkles and chocolate chips on top, yet I didn’t mind them on this cupcake. It was So Good.

PB Crumble - Sinful Sweets

When I pick up treats I usually grab something for Mama Bear too. We’re a family of sweet teeth and she loves chocolate, caramel and peanut butter. I heard a few “mmm’s” coming from the kitchen and knew she was working on the PB Crumble cupcake. When I asked for a review she said,”I ate it over the sink.”

And there you have it. Sinful Sweets offers treats so good you can’t be bothered with a plate. Stop by if you’re downtown and check them out for yourself, or if you’re into self torture, browse their menu here and their Facebook here. It will be so worth it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

