Featured Sweet Spot: Oakland Bakery & Market

I’ve been getting my hair done in Oakland (Hair Friends – ask for Glen) and while I was there last week I figured I’d see if there were any bakeries nearby. I worked in Oakland for a few months but didn’t have much time to explore and the only place I’d tried was Peace, Love & Little Donuts (they were good but on the dry side). Anyway, while getting my hair done last week I asked Google if there were any bakeries nearby and Google said that there was one just a couple of blocks away: Oakland Bakery & Market.

This little bakery is located in the Schenley Quadragle on the University of Pittsburgh’s campus. Google told me to walk down Fifth Avenue and then turn INTO the Quadrangle. I thought I was in the wrong place but then I used my reading skills and saw that the bakery is clearly marked. It’s on the outside of the Quadrangle, between Starbucks and the book store, facing Fifth Avenue.
I wasn’t sure what to expect but this place is definitely a cross between a bakery and a market. One side has drinks and snacks, just like a convenience store, and on the other side is the bakery counter. There are some tables scattered around in case you want to stay and hang out. My first impression of this place was that it looked very new. And clean. Maybe it’s newly remodeled. I don’t know, but I liked it.

I headed right over the bakery counter and was greeted by the very (overly) friendly manager. He gave me a minute or two to look over the selection. Decisions, decisions. There was a variety of cupcakes, brownies, and the like. I finally chose 2 big chocolate cupcakes and 2 cookie sandwiches. I was very excited about my purchase but I waited until I got home before I tried anything.

img_5299-edit

Mama Bear ate her chocolate cupcake right away and said it was very good. I had mine after dinner as  I like to delay gratification (and I had just eaten an obscene amount at Five Guys). Sadly, I was extremely disappointed. Turns out this cupcake was frosted with the dreaded whipped cream icing. Whipped cream icing is The Devil. It looks like buttercream but then you take a bite and it’s like, “Just kidding!” I taste nothing when eating whipped cream icing. It’s like eating air. I mean, what is the point?! The cupcake was good for what it was, the cake itself was nice and moist, etc. But I loathe whipped cream icing.

So I moved on to the cookie sandwich. This consisted of 2 chocolate chip cookies filled with buttercream (thank god). Delicious. Mama Bear only had a couple of bites of her cookie sandwich and left it in the box. I have no idea what that was about. But when Boy stopped by the next day the 3 of us fought over it. Boy won.

Definitely worth a try if you’re in Oakland. Just beware of The Devil.

img_5297-edit

Leave a Reply

